Agenda

DAY 1 – Tuesday 21 June

11:00 GMT / 14:00 EEST / 19:00 SGT

Week Opening: Apostolos Belokas, Managing Editor, SAFETY4SEA

11:10 GMT / 14:10 EEST / 19:10 SGT

Keynote Address: Kitack Lim, Secretary-General, IMO

11:15 GMT / 14:15 EEST / 19:15 SGT

Session #1: Ship Managers Session – Panel Discussion
Moderated by Mrs. Dorothea Ioannou, CEO Designate​, The American Club

  • Andy Cook, Crewing Operations Director, V.Group
  • Boriana Farrar, Vice President – Chief Legal Officer, Patriot Contract Services, LLC
  • George D. Gourdomichalis, President & Managing Director, Phoenix Shipping & Trading S.A.
  • Sunil Kapoor, Director, FML Ship Management Limited
  • Karin Orsel, Chief Executive Officer, MF Shipping Group

12:30 GMT / 15:30 EEST / 20:30 SGT

Session #2: The Ship Managers Perspective

  • Capt. Sokratis Tigkos, Crew & Marine Manager, Omicron Ship Management Inc. – Crew Welfare: A key point in shipping – PEOPLE FIRST
  • Katerina Somaripa, Crew Operator, Prime Marine – Overview of Crew Welfare Prime Initiatives
  • Dimitris Fokas, Training Manager, Angelicoussis Group – Mental Health, Wellbeing, Training & Health Promotion 
  • Dr. Theoharis I. Sinifakoulis, Fleet Medical Advisor, Angelicoussis Group – Mental Health, Wellbeing, Training & Health Promotion 
  • Eirini Pirpili, Wellness/Gym Manager, Angelicoussis Group – Mental Health, Wellbeing, Training & Health Promotion
  • Aristonis Trochanis, Soft Skills Expert, Angelicoussis Group – Mental Health, Wellbeing, Training & Health Promotion

13:15 GMT / 16:15 EEST / 21:15 SGT

Session #3: The Crew Manager Perspective

  • Ambassador Carlos C. Salinas, PTC Founder and IMO Maritime Ambassador – Global Maritime Professionals at the HEART of PTC 
  • Gerardo Borromeo, CEO, PTC – Global Maritime Professionals at the HEART of PTC
  • Atty. Iris V. Baguilat, President, Döhle Seafront Crewing (Manila), Inc. – Best Practices: Easing back to the pre-pandemic norms

14:00 GMT / 17:00 EEST / 22:00 SGT

Session #4: Best Practice Video Interviews

  • Sophia Bullard, Director, Crew Health Programme, UK P&I Club
  • Rich McLoughlin, Head of Maritime Engagement, Safetytech Accelerator

14:15 GMT / 17:15 EEST / 22:15 SGT

Session #5: Focus Presentations

  • Rich McLoughlin, Head of Maritime Engagement, Safetytech Accelerator – Technology for Crew Wellbeing
  • Dr.  William Moore, Senior Vice President, American Club – American Club’s Good Catch Initiative
  • Bjarke Jakobsen, Partner & Senior Consultant, Green Jakobsen – Key soft skills a maritime leader must possess to enhance the crew welfare on board
  • Junal Gatungay Jr., Learning and Development Consultant, Green Jakobsen – Key soft skills a maritime leader must possess to enhance the crew welfare on board
  • Dr. Maria Progoulaki, Regional Representative and Senior Consultant, Green Jakobsen – Key soft skills a maritime leader must possess to enhance the crew welfare on board

14:50 GMT / 17:50 EEST / 22:50 SGT

Crew Welfare Awards Ceremony

  • Crew Welfare Tanker Operator Award
  • Crew Welfare Dry Bulk Operator Award
  • Crew Welfare Management Award
  • Crew Welfare Service Provider Award
  • Crew Welfare Organisation Award
  • Crew Welfare Diversity & Inclusion Award
  • Crew Welfare Personality Award
  • Crew Welfare Leadership Award

15:30 GMT / 18:30 EEST / 23:30 SGT

Program of day ends

DAY 2 – Wednesday 22 June

11:00 GMT / 14:00 EEST / 19:00 SGT

Day Opening: Apostolos Belokas, Managing Editor, SAFETY4SEA

11:05 GMT / 14:05 EEST / 19:05 SGT

Session #6: Industry Stakeholders Panel – Panel Discussion
Moderated by Mrs. Carleen Lyden Walker, Co-Founder/Executive Director of NAMEPA and IMO Goodwill Maritime Ambassador

  • Sara Baade, CEO, Sailors’ Society
  • Jillian Carson-Jackson, President, The Nautical Institute
  • Ismael Cobos Delgado, Head, Maritime Training and Human Element, International Maritime Organization (IMO)
  • Simon Grainge, Chief Executive, International Seafarers’ Welfare and Assistance Network (ISWAN)

12:20 GMT / 15:20 EEST / 20:20 SGT

Session #7: Seafarer Rights, Diversity & Inclusion

  • Frances House, Senior Advisor on Special Programmes, Institute for Human Rights and Business – Delivering on Seafarers’ Rights
  • Andrew Stephens, Executive Director, Sustainable Shipping Initiative – Delivering on Seafarers’ Rights
  • Xiwei Zhao, Product Manager, RightShip – The seafarers’ code of conduct and Crew Welfare Assessment
  • Danielle Centeno, Vice President of Loss Prevention and Survey Compliance, American Club – Women at Sea: Career Interest, Challenges, and Stigmas

13:00 GMT / 16:00 EEST / 21:00 SGT

Session #8: Soft Skills – Panel Discussion
Moderated by Mr. Apostolos Belokas, Managing Editor, SAFETY4SEA

  • Capt. John Dolan, Deputy Director, Loss Prevention, Standard Club
  • Dimitris Fokas, Training Manager, Angelicoussis Group
  • Bjarke Jakobsen, Partner & Senior Consultant, Green Jakobsen
  • Aggeliki Saranti, Crewing Recruitment Officer, Euronav
  • RAdm Bill Truelove, Managing Director, CSMART Training Center
  • Capt. Parani VS, HSSEQ Manager, Tufton Asset Management Ltd.

14:15 GMT / 17:15 EEST / 22:15 SGT

Session #9: Mental Health

  • Maris Cirulis, Managing Director, CleverPoint Marine – Managing Stress through Science and Technology
  • Penelope Robotis, Clinical & Organizational Psychologist/Chief HR Officer, I.M.E.Q. Center – Rethinking Psychological Safety in the Workplace
  • Connie S. Gehrt, Managing Director, CONOVAH – How can you support wellbeing through ship-shore communication?
  • Dr. Rachel Glynn-Williams, Consultant Clinical Psychologist, Glynn-Williams & Associates Ltd – Critical Incidents at Sea: Stress, psychological trauma and how best to respond
  • Charles Watkins, Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Mental Health Support Solutions – How Leadership and Psychological safety are connected to mental health challenges on board
  • Dr. Michela Terrei, Psychologist, I.M.A. Assessment and Training Center, Inc. – Maritime Education and Training: The role of maritime academies in building the awareness on mental health issues

15:30 GMT / 18:30 EEST / 23:30 SGT

Session #10: Seafarer Health

  • Maris Cirulis, Managing Director, CleverPoint Marine – Relationship between Physiology and Performance
  • Dr. Periclis Tzardis, Chief Medical Advisor, ShipMedCare – Pre-employment assessment and prevention for Seafarers
  • Alex Ngai, General Manager, Impact Health Group – Telemedicine is a service, not a platform: Attempting to decifer telemedicine for the maritime industry
  • Dr. Chia Yih Woei, Chief Executive Officer, Seacare Medical Centre (SMMC) – Telemedicine is a service, not a platform: Attempting to decifer telemedicine for the maritime industry

16:00 GMT / 19:00 EEST / 00:00 SGT (23 JUN)

Program of day ends

DAY 3 – Thursday 23 June

11:00 GMT / 14:00 EEST / 19:00 SGT

Day Opening: Apostolos Belokas, Managing Editor, SAFETY4SEA

11:05 GMT / 14:05 EEST / 19:05 SGT

Crew Welfare Survey: Apostolos Belokas, Managing Editor, SAFETY4SEA

11:30 GMT / 14:30 EEST / 19:30 SGT

Session #11: Crew Welfare Best Practices

  • Cheah Aun Aun, Director (Shipping), Marine, Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore (MPA) – Safeguarding Crew Welfare in the Pandemic
  • Gisa R. Paredes, Chief Operating Officer, WellAtSea – Modernizing Crew Welfare Through The Power Of Community Management
  • Capt. Hari Subramaniam​, Regional Head ‑ Business Relations, Shipowners’ Club – Seafarer Health and Wellbeing
  • Martin Foley, Chief Executive Officer/European Regional Coordinator, Stella Maris – Holistic approach to crew welfare
  • Konstantinos S. Galanakis, CEO, Elvictor Group – Social Crew Welfare: Challenges, Solutions, Pros & Cons, Lessons to be Learned
  • Ersi Zacharopoulou, EMEA Business Development Manager, SGS SA – Crew Well-Being Monitoring Program

12:50 GMT / 15:50 EEST / 20:50 SGT

Session #12: Crew Abandonment

  • Andrew Roberts, Head of Europe, Middle East and Africa, RightShip – Seafarer Abandonment: Cast Off and Set Adrift!

13:00 GMT / 16:00 EEST / 21:00 SGT

Session #13: Crew Welfare Panel – Panel Discussion
Moderated by Mr. Apostolos Belokas, Managing Editor, SAFETY4SEA

  • Gabriele Dado, Commercial Director, Safetytech Accelerator
  • Capt. Faouzi Fradi, Group Director Crewing and Training, Columbia Shipmanagement Ltd.
  • Andrew Roberts, Head of Europe, Middle East and Africa, RightShip
  • Nikos Toumazatos, Crew Manager, Latsco Marine Management Inc
  • Ioanna Vernardou, DPA / CSO, Blue Planet Shipping Ltd

14:15 GMT / 17:15 EEST / 22:15 SGT

Session #14: Crew Travel

  • George Kyvernitis, Managing Partner, Kyvernitis Travel – Crew Travel: Patterns for the future

14:30 GMT / 17:30 EEST / 22:30 SGT

Session #15: Crew Change

  • Nikos D. Marmatsouris, Group Senior Marketing Manager, GAC Shipping SA GAC – Crew Changes in Covid times: A Global review

14:45 GMT / 17:45 EEST / 22:45 SGT

Session #16: Nutrition onboard

  • Nichole Stylianou, Food Dietitian Nutritionist, MCTC Marine Ltd. – Nutrition On Board Ships
  • Dr. Kate Pike, ISWAN – Social Interaction Matters (SIM) Project: The importance and role of food

15:10 GMT / 18:10 EEST / 23:10 SGT

Session #17: The Seafarers Perspective

Hear from ocean going seafarers their thoughts on Crew Welfare

15:50 GMT / 18:50 EEST / 23:50 SGT

Crew Welfare Week Closing: Apostolos Belokas, Managing Editor, SAFETY4SEA

16:00 GMT / 19:00 EEST / 00:00 SGT (24 JUN)

Program of day ends